Moorfields wins Patient Safety Award

Congratulations to Emily Cabourne, specialist registrar; Nicola Lau, corneal fellow; Julie Nott, head of risk and safety; Jill Bloom, associate chief pharmacist; Declan Flanagan, medical director; and Romesh Angunawela, consultant ophthalmic surgeon, from Moorfields Eye Hospital, who won the ‘clinical governance and risk management in patient safety’ award at the National Patient Safety Awards in Manchester on 4 July.

The National Patient Safety Awards recognise and reward outstanding practice within the NHS and independent healthcare organisations.

Emily Cabourne, said: "As a trainee I learnt a lot through the whole process, specifically from carrying out a trust-wide patient harm review and presenting our work at a national level. Winning the award on behalf of Moorfields was such an honour and I am proud to be a part of such a dedicated and patient-focussed NHS trust."

Emily and her team submitted a paper titled ‘Optimising patient outcomes following routine cataract surgery’. The paper focused on cataract surgeries, which are the most commonly performed operation in the UK, and introduced new methods of treating patients after having cataract surgery. Emily accepted the award on the behalf of the team.


Was this information useful? Please rate the page.